I’m a narcissist

Ok, so I’m not really that narcisstic… but according to a recent article in my school’s newspaper, vanity among college students is on the rise.  For those who are completely lost with my post right now because you don’t know what narcisissm is, here is the definition according to dictionary.com:

1. inordinate fascination with oneself; excessive self-love; vanity.

Now, back to the point…  I have noticed that with all of the shows on television like America’s Next Top Model, The Academy, and pretty much every reality show right now, it is basically just a bunch of pretty people talking about how pretty they are.

On campus, there are groups of *unnamed* people that always seems to be competing with each other to be the most beautiful.  These people always think they are gorgeous because they have spent their whole life being told how ‘special’ and ‘wonderful’ they are by their parents and close friends.  Think about it… how many girls do you know that complain about themselves just to hear people oppose them and tell them how great they are.

Now, it’s not only being self-obsessed with one’s beauty that qualifies them as a narcissist… we can put self proclaimed genius’s on the list too.  We all know who I’m talking about, the ‘I’ve studied abroad seven times and just finished my 11th prestigious internship’ people.  I’m pretty sure that these ‘genius’s’ are lacking in other areas of their life… maybe things like an actual life.  Also, half the time these people are lying about their accomplishments anyways to make themselves feel superior.

Being a narcissist can also be a good thing, although it needs to be in moderate doses or people will start talking behind your back.  Expressing confidence and love for ones self is what helps people reach goals and maintain a happy outlook.

‘ugh, I’m so fat’…. c’mon people, tell me I’m not! 

Shameless plug: The March issue of the online magazine I write for came out a couple of weeks ago… here is a link to my article, so read it!

1 Comment

Filed under Blogroll, college, girls, life, vanity

One response to “I’m a narcissist

  1. Chuck

    No you are!

Leave a Reply

